Its Mandate is to oversee provision of quality education in Catholic education institutions in Malawi, apart from contributing towards the fulfilment of the enjoyment of the Right to Education by all school going population in the country. As of 2022, Zomba Diocese has 76 Catholic Primary Schools, 16 Secondary Schools (13 Community Day Secondary Schools, 1 Minor Seminary, 1 National Secondary School and 1 Private Secondary School) and 2 Technical Colleges (Thondwe Village Polytechnic and Namitembo Trade and Agriculture School) distributed across the 20 parishes of the Diocese. In addition, Bishop Auneau Girls’ Catholic Secondary School and Mpalankhanga Community Day Secondary School operate in the Diocese and are run by Sisters of the Blessed Virgin Mary-SBVM. Mpalankhanga enrolls special needs students with hearing impairment.